German: Mitose
Japanese: 有糸分裂

Cell biology. The mechanism of reduplication and distribution of a cell's DNA to its daughter cells in cell division. The mitosis is subdivided into four phases:
1. Prophase: reduplicated chromosomes condensate, the nuclear membrane begins to dissolve, the spindle apparatus begins to form.
2. Metaphase: chromosomes arrange in the equatorial plane, attached to the spindle apparatus, the nuclear membrane is dissolved.
3. Anaphase: sister chromatids are separated and move towards the two poles of the spindle.
4. Telophase: formation of new nuclear membranes, the cytoplasm divides, forming two complete daughter cells.

Belongs to:
Related to:

Search for publications that include this term